This week’s assignment allowed us to practice using the LocationSensor item within the App Inventor. From my previous experience with apps that rely on location, accuracy has been a concern. I was curious to see how well my app would work. I gave my app a thorough testing by visiting and recording locations at several of my relatives’ houses throughout our town. I am happy to report that the LocationSensor within my app ended up being very accurate. I was pleased with the outcome.

For my app, I customized the project in the book by providing several options for “what to find” with the app. I seem to always be misplacing my items, or leaving them at my parents’ house. So I created an app that allows me to track the place where I place my items so that I can find them if I forget where I last put them. If I use this app, it should help me relieve some of my frustration from having to look for items!

My classmates each did a good job, although it appears that everyone chose to do less customization this week than what I am used to seeing. I did enjoy the jogging app that was submitted. It would be useful for exploring a new town or going for a job and finding your way back home. I gave it a short test by jogging through the neighborhood and it worked like a charm.

All in all, this was a fun week and experience with the LocationSensor!